IUD/Personhood/Just a vagina

12 Jan

 

There was a media orgy over Mississippi’s “Personhood” Amendment that was left for the voters to decide in Nov. 2011, if passed, it would have defined a fertilized egg as a person and effectively outlawed abortion in the state. This Amendment, known to voters as Amendment 26, was struck down by the voters of what is known as one of the most conservative states in America cause it’s wording was vague and could have included routinely used forms of contraceptives including the Pill and IUDs. Now the freakshows who initiated this waste of time are trying to push it through the state legislator and circumnavigate the will of the voters. Usual sore loser shit.

I take this subject very seriously because I have an IUD, a small device that lives in my uterus and prevents conception and if fertilization happens, it prevents implantation. This was the most cost-effective, healthy, long-term option I had for preventing pregnancy. After many attempts at taking oral (hormonal) contraceptives I learned that my body reacted poorly to them, I gain weight, my blood pressure elevates and I turn into an emotionally unstable crazy bitch. The IUD I choose involves no hormones, is good for 10 years and required 2 doctors visits, with an overall cost of $30.

So every time I read about personhood amendments or how multiplying cells should have rights as people (I guess they’re using the same logical as Corporations being people) all I can think is “god!! I’m so tired of my vagina being a battleground!!!!” Let’s face it, all women in one way or another are part of the battleground but purely in the context of their vagina being the possible bearer of life. With the personhood debate the proponents are the righteous, the baby is the victim, my uterus is the battleground, the IUD is the devil and the rest of me is just the fleshy meat surrounding the debate. Where do I exist?

As a self-proclaimed selfish person, hence the IUD and absence of babies, I find debates concerning my body that don’t really factor me in as a person to be infuriating. I make smart decision about my reproductive options and then wingnuts decide that I’m not a person, I’m a baby making factory that should respect the potential for life in my, as yet, untested vagina more than I respect myself.

We should have moved passed the time where myths and fables dictate or legislation, where logic is tossed aside for the sake of “righteousness”, where women receive more attention to their combined uterus’ than all their accomplishments and triumphs combined. It genuinely makes me sick that with everything that people could be fighting for they fight for potential life over actual life.

Nugget of Awesomeness: GET OUT OF MY UTERUS!!!! Or if your gonna be all rude like that then at least acknowledge that it’s attached to a person. And if you can’t treat me like a person in the debate then don’t act all shocked when I can’t have sympathy for the “babies”, if you don’t give a crap that I exist I can’t give a crap that these “babies” could exist.

 

3 Responses to “IUD/Personhood/Just a vagina”

  1. Kent McManigal January 12, 2012 at 6:32 pm #

    I agree. It’s as if someone believed my testicles were their business. Which, I suppose is a logical extension of the whole “pro-life” [sic] (actually, usually anti-sex) silliness.

  2. Kitties and Boobies January 14, 2012 at 3:21 pm #

    There’s a great episode of the Sarah Silverman Program in which she joins up with pro-life protesters after learning that they “murder babies at the clinic” then she waives to her abortion doctor while she’s there. Of course actual baby murder is wrong, which is why it’s so easy to get bible-belters worked up about abortion; in their mind they equate it to going into a hospital’s maternity ward and opening fire. They get upset over the “murder” of dividing cells, but not the higher than average infant mortality rate we have in the US in which actual babies – that both sides of the abortion debate can agree are living persons – die due to lack of health care coverage and prenatal care.

  3. P-Swayze is my copilot January 16, 2012 at 2:18 pm #

    Once while waiting for the bus a guy approached me to sign a petition to allow neighborhoods to vote whether or not they want to allow abortion providers in the area. After asking some pretty basic questions that he couldn’t answer, like whether or not this would apply to already existing abortion providers (I looked it up voters WOULD have had the right to oust providers already in the area), I asked why he was working to put this on the ballot. He said that he wanted to limit the scoop of Planned Parenthood and give people the right to choose (exactly!!!) to have them in their neighborhood. I pointed out that a better way to limit PP influence would be to go after them economically, PP performs mostly routine medical examination and testing that women cannot afford to get anywhere else, if there was universal healthcare that would take away most of what they do, leading to less money and influence. The guy says “Well, that’s not what we’re taking about.” Yay, don’t think about providing better medical coverage for those actually living, maybe creating less necessity for abortion, just let the neighborhood get out their pitchforks and drive the “murders” out. He then said “So, will you sign the petition.” I said, “No, I’m Pro-Choice so I would never sign that.”

Leave a Reply

