Pick a good one.

26 May

I have been accused of being too picky when it comes to dating or rejecting web-Lotharios and I take offense to that accusation. From my perspective I am being thorough in picking a mate, something that is warranted considering the outcome is a lot of shared time. If I am going to spend significant portions of my time with a person then I sure as shit am going to make sure they are cool and fun. Duh!

Below is my boyfriend wish list, it was create after I broke up with my ex-boyfriend. Once I was ready to move on from my ex and start dating again it occurred to me that when ever anyone asked what I was looking for it was all “don’t”s. I don’t want him to be a jerk or be a late sleeper or smoke pot. All I was really saying was that I didn’t want him to be anything like my exboyfriend, but what the hell DID I want. I made this list to flush out what I truly wanted in a dude and not just the behaviors I didn’t like. No one can fit 100% of the criteria but I think 75% is reasonable.  I’d go as low as 65% if the sex is stellar.

  1. Piggy-back rides
  2. Trust (white lies when appropriate)
  3. Comes to my house, sometimes
  4. Back massages
  5. Good conversation
  6. Romance
  7. Hangs with my friends and family, and likes it
  8. Good sense of humor
  9. Understands me and my weirdness
  10. Honesty
  11. Emotional openness
  12. Fun
  13. Happiness
  14. Kindness
  15. Sympathy
  16. Giving
  17. Similar political beliefs
  18. Great, passionate, loving sex
  19. Passion
  20. Great kisser and likes to make-out
  21. Magic
  22. Good with kids but doesn’t necessarily want to have them
  23. Doesn’t need me to agree with them all the time
  24. Love, Love, Love
  25. Not a food snob
  26. Adventurous
  27. Travel
  28. Hand holding
  29. Affectionate
  30. Commitment
  31. Loyalty
  32. Helps me when I need him
  33. Listens to me bitch, even sometimes when I am being ridiculous
  34. Foot massages
  35. Luvs Indian food
  36. Compliments
  37. Has cool friend that I like
  38. Minimal emotional baggage
  39. Generous
  40. Silly
  41. Cuddles
  42. Hugs, especially when I feel bad
  43. Creative
  44. Inspiring
  45. Intoxicating
  46. Good listener
  47. Knows that when I am upset what I want to hear is “I am sorry, that suck. Don’t worry we will get through this” (must be believable)
  48. Doesn’t want to fix me
  49. Doesn’t want me to fix him
  50. Soul mate
  51. Knows how to be goofy
  52. Sexy
  53. Nice arms
  54. Nice ass
  55. Decent job
  56. Smells good or at least doesn’t smell bad
  57. Not too crazy
  58. Not condescending
  59. No drug or alcohol problems.
  60. Not an ax murderer

Leave a comment